top of page

McGhee Tyson Airport: Becky and Nancy


I was sitting in a green airport chair at McGhee Tyson Airport, biding my time mostly. Sitting there in the airport surrounded by potential blog subjects, my project suddenly became much more daunting than I imagined. I began to regret my insistance on a thesis topic that made me put myself so far out of my comfort zone. I’m not a fan of approaching strangers, but the fate of my academic career relied on me doing just that.

I sat in that chair for approximately 30 minutes, watching as people came and went. Each time someone stood up to meet their loved one, I saw a missed opportunity. Why was it so hard to seize the moment and approach someone? Oh, wait, I know. It’s because I'm too concerned with rejection, and the awkwardness that will surely ensue when I must return to my seat just two rows behind them.

Luckily, the potential shame of leaving the airport having talked to no one was enough to FINALLY encourage me. I watched as two ladies took their picture with the carvings of black bears in front of the seating areas. They were laughing and seemed generally approachable. I waited a little longer as they sat two rows in front of me speaking animatedly with each other. Eventually sensing that I would miss the opportunity if I didn’t act soon, I approached my first potential subjects to explain my project. Though somewhat flustered, I proceeded to introduce myself and my project to them. It went something like:

"Um, Hi I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Evy Linkous, and I go to Maryville College. Do you know Maryville College? Anyway, I'm working to complete my senior thesis, and part of it involves doing a blog in which I interview people who are waiting in areas of transit. Would you guys maybe let me interview you? And let me take a picture of you reuniting with the person you're waiting for?"

The two exchanged a few glances, seeming to ask each other if they really wanted to speak with the stranger approaching them in the airport, but much to my relief, they agreed. I had my first interview!

Their names were Nancy and Becky, and from the looks of it, they had been friends for quite a long time. And in fact, they had. They told me that they met at mother’s day out when their eldest children were only 3 – they are now 31. They’ve been close friends since. Within a few minutes, I found common ground with Becky, whose son who had also attended Maryville College where he met his wife. Excited about this commonality, I told her my parents had also met at Maryville College.

But time for the real question: what brought these two women to the airport at 4:45 pm on a Thursday? They were waiting on Nancy’s aunt they told me. She was flying in from Michigan, and it would be the first time they had seen each other in about a year. Though Becky had no blood relation, she said that she had spent so much time around the family that by now they had adopted her.

It was clear that all three women were excited to be reunited. I asked what stands out to them about their awaited companion, and it seems it is her personality.

“She’s just a lot of fun,” said Nancy.

She went on to explain that her father was a child of seven, but the youngest three girls weren’t much older than her. The aunt visiting today was only nine years older, so they grew up spending plenty of time together.

This weekend several of Becky and Nancy’s friends were coming from near and far for a “girls weekend.” They planned to spend the weekend at a cabin in the Smokey Mountains. Their plans to bike and zip line revealed their adventurous spirits.

Right around this time, our conversation was cut short by an excited observation.

“I think that’s her!” said Becky.

Both ladies hopped up to greet their newest companion. They greeted each other as reunited friends often do, with hugs and exclamations of joy, but the smiles on their faces made it clear how truly happy they were. The picture included is a shot I snapped as they welcomed Nancy’s aunt.

Of course, I then had to explain why there was apparently paparazzi snapping photos of their reunion to their newly arrived guest, but the happiness shown in the photo speaks volumes.

And just like that I had completed my first interview. For me, it felt like a jumping off point. I waved goodbye and thanked the women for their time as they left the airport, and sat back down to contemplate who I would approach next. “In Transit” had officially begun.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page